Menu Close

How many biogeographical classification of India?

How many biogeographical classification of India?

ten biogeographic zones
Biogeographic classification of India is the division of India according to biogeographic characteristics. Biogeography is the study of the distribution of species (biology), organisms, and ecosystems in geographic space and through geological time. There are ten biogeographic zones in India.

What is meant by Shola forest?

Sholas are the local name for patches of stunted tropical montane forest found in valleys amid rolling grassland in the higher montane regions of South India, largely in Kerala, Karnataka and Tamilnadu.

Which plant give timber?

List of Indian timber trees

Common name Binomial nomenclature Location
Pine Pinus spp.
Red cedar Assam, Nagpur
Rosewood Dalbergia latifolia Kerala, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Orrissa
Sal Shorea robusta Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Madhya Pradesh, Orissa

Is Shola a coniferous forest?

The correct answer is The Western Ghats. The Shola forests are tropical montane forests found in the Western Ghats. Shola grasslands consist of dwarf trees or grasslands.

What are the 10 biogeography zones of India?

India has been devided into ten recognizable biogeographic zones as follows:

  • Trans-Himalayan Region.
  • Himalayan Zone.
  • Indian Desert Zone.
  • Semi Arid Region.
  • Western Ghats.
  • Deccan Plateau.
  • Gangetic Plain.
  • North East Region.

How many biography habitats are there in India?

Bio-geographers have classified India into ten Bio-geographic zones with each zone having characteristic climate, soil and biodiversity.

What are montane forests?

Mountain forests “Montane Forest is ecosystem found in mountains. It gets affected by colder climate at moderate elevations. In these areas dense forest are common. In Mountain Forest, rainfall and temperate climate leads to change in natural vegetation.

Where are the Sholas forest?

Introduction. The shola forest-grassland is the tropical montane forest found in the upper reaches of India’s Western Ghats. This mosaic ecosystem is native only to the southern Western Ghats and found in the high altitude mountains of Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Karnataka.

What is tropical montane forest?

Tropical montane forests (TMFs) are found on most of Earth’s continents along variable elevation ranges, whose potential upper limits are influenced by cloud condensation heights and minimum temperatures. They are most widespread in South America and in (semi-)humid mountain areas (Richter, 2008).

How many hotspots are there in India?

four biodiversity hotspots
Following the criteria must for an area to be declared as Biodiversity Hotspot, there are major four biodiversity hotspots in India: The Himalayas. Indo-Burma Region. The Western Ghats….Sundaland.

IUCN Red List List of Biosphere Reserves in India
Loss of Biodiversity Montreal Protocol – Provisions and Significance

What are the different geographical zones of India?

ECO Zones of India

  • The Trans-Himalayan Region.
  • The Himalayan Region.
  • The Indian Desert.
  • The Semi-Arid Region.
  • The Western Ghats.
  • The Deccan Peninsula.
  • The Gangetic Plain.
  • The Coastal Region.

What is alpine forest?

Alpine ecosystems extend beyond the typically envisioned high-elevation open slopes and summits of cold-adapted shrubs and herbs to include as well lithic environments of cliffs, talus fields, boulder fields and rock glaciers; permanent and persistent snow and icefields, including glaciers; and various water bodies …

What is littoral and swamp forest?

Littoral forests and Swamp forests are also called wetland forests. India has a rich variety of these types of forests. They are mainly found in reservoirs of Deccan Plateau, saline coast of Gujarat, Rajasthan, and Gulf of Kutch, Eastern Coast Deltas, lakes and Rivers of Kashmir and Ladakh, Swamps in North East India.

Which type of forests are found in Nilgiri Hills?

Tropical evergreen forests are found along the slopes of the Nilgiris and and the coast areas of Tamil Nadu.

Which tree is called the King of plants?

Oaks: The king of trees.

What is the lightest wood in India?

Marandi Wood (Melia Azederach) or White Cedar timber, is resistant to decay and termites. It can be shaped to make wooden accessories. It is mostly imported from Malaysia and is lighter than other types of wood. It is resistant to decay and termites.

How many types of wood are there in India?

Primarily, on the basis of hardness, there are two types of wood in India – hardwood and softwood.

What are the different types of forests in India?

India is one of the 17 mega biodiverse regions of the world. Indian forests types include tropical evergreens, tropical deciduous, swamps, mangroves, sub-tropical, montane, scrub, sub-alpine and alpine forests. These forests support a variety of ecosystems with diverse flora and fauna. Forests and valley of Uttarakhand.

Which is the most forest-covered state in India?

Above is the protected forest in Van Vihar National Park. Arunachal Pradesh has the 2nd largest forest cover in India, and its largest primary forest cover. Above is Nuranang Falls on the way to Tawang Chhatthisgarh and Odisha are other major forest covered states of India. Above elephants in Chandaka forest, Odisha.

What is the total forest and tree cover in India?

In 2018, the total forest and tree cover in India increased to 24.39% or 8,02,088 km 2. It increased further to 24.56 percent or 807,276 square kilometres in 2019.

How are communal forests formed in India?

Typically, communal forests are formed in two ways: Joint forest management program: Designation of marked areas in reserved forests and protected forests of India as a communal forest for villages inside the reserved or protected forest or in the fringe areas.