Menu Close

What are the three regions of Puerto Rico?

What are the three regions of Puerto Rico?

Puerto Rico has three main geographic regions: mountains, coastal lowlands, and karst country. More than 60 percent of the island is mountainous. The island’s mountains, which dominate the island’s interior, comprise four ranges: Cordillera Central, Sierra de Cayey, Sierra de Luquillo, and Sierra de Bermeja.

What are regions in Puerto Rico?

Begin your journey by exploring Puerto Rico’s six regions and 78 cities listed below.

  • North. Arecibo. Barceloneta. Camuy. Dorado.
  • Metro. Bayamón. Carolina. Cataño. Guaynabo.
  • East. Caguas. Canóvanas. Ceiba. Culebra.
  • Central. Adjuntas. Aguas Buenas. Aibonito. Barranquitas.
  • South. Arroyo. Caja de Muertos. Coamo.
  • West. Aguada. Aguadilla. Añasco.

How many regions does Puerto Rico have?

The Island is composed of 78 municipalities that belong to six different regions. Each has a unique identity that manifests itself through the local cuisine, diverse cultural activities, tourist attractions, adventure tours, and other unique attributes.

Where is the region of Puerto Rico?

It is situated in the northeastern Caribbean Sea, its northern shore facing the Atlantic Ocean. Two small islands off the east coast, Vieques and Culebra, are administratively parts of Puerto Rico, as is Mona Island to the west.

How is Puerto Rico divided?

None (Commonwealth associated with the U.S.); there are no first-order administrative divisions as defined by the U.S. Government, but Puerto Rico is divided into 78 “municipios” (municipalities). Each is governed by a popularly elected mayor and municipal assembly.

How many provinces are in Puerto Rico?

Municipalities of Puerto Rico
Location Commonwealth of Puerto Rico
Number 78
Populations 1,818 (Culebra) – 395,326 (San Juan)
Areas 4.84 square miles (12.5 km2) (Cataño) – 125.95 square miles (326.2 km2) (Arecibo)

How many provinces are there in Puerto Rico?

What is state province region?

A province is an area of land that is part of a country, similar to a state or a county. It can also be an area of land under political control by an outside country, similar to a colony. Provinces are usually units of government.

What are counties called in Puerto Rico?

There are 78 county equivalent entities known as municipios in Puerto Rico. All municipios are functioning governmental entities. There are 939 county subdivisions in Puerto Rico known as minor civil divisions (MCDs). This includes 827 barrios, 75 barrios-pueblo, and 37 areas where subdivisions are undefined.

Is region and province the same?

province Add to list Share. A province is a region within a country. If you travel to Canada, you’ll have to decide whether you want to go to the province of Quebec, or Saskatchewan, or one of the other 8 provinces in that enormous country. Many countries are divided into provinces.

What does state or region means?

Definition. Regional/state/provincial level is a sub-division of government, which shares political, fiscal and economic powers with a central government. In a federal government, the regional level is represented by a state government. In unitary states, regional government is known as a provincial government.