Menu Close

What are the 3 species of wolf?

What are the 3 species of wolf?

There are three species of wolves found in North America—the Gray Wolf, the Eastern Wolf, and the Red Wolf. Description: The largest member of the wild dog family, Gray Wolves weigh on average 60–120 pounds and can have a variety of fur colors which differ between subspecies and include gray, black, and white.

Do white wolves exist?

Often called the “polar wolf” or “white wolf,” Arctic wolves inhabit the Arctic regions of North America and Greenland. Thanks to its isolation, the Arctic wolf is not threatened by hunting and habitat destruction in the same way as its southern relatives.

What are the two types of wolves?

There are two widely recognized species of wolves in the world, the red and the gray.

What are the 7 classifications of a wolf?


  • Kingdom: Animalia.
  • Phylum: Chordata.
  • Class: Mammalia.
  • Order: Carnivora.
  • Family: Canidae.
  • Genus: Canis.
  • Species: Canis lupus (Linnaeus, 1758) – gray wolf.
  • Subspecies: C. l. arabs (Arabian peninsula) Subspecies: C. l. arctos (Arctic wolf, North America) Subspecies: C. l. baileyi (Mexican wolf, North America)

What is the smallest wolf?

Arabian gray wolf
The Arabian gray wolf is the smallest of all the wolves, weighing around 45 lbs on average. This subspecies calls the Arabian Peninsula its home and is well adapted to desert life.

What is the biggest wolf on earth?

The Mackenzie Valley Wolf is the largest wolf in the world. Also known as the Northwestern Wolf or Canadian Timber Wolf, this furry giant roams the northwest, frequenting the Mackenzie River Valley.

Can wolf live with human?

Wolves generally avoid human interactions, unless they have become acclimated to people. Please do your part to keep wolves where they belong—in the wild. Don’t feed the wolves. Wolves are wary of people; they can lose their fear of humans by becoming used to them.