Menu Close

Who won most GREY cups?

Who won most GREY cups?

Winnipeg Blue BombersCanadian Football League / Latest champion

The Toronto Argonauts have won the most Grey Cup championships (17), followed by the Edmonton Eskimos (now Elks) (14) and Winnipeg Blue Bombers (12). The Winnipeg Blue Bombers have made the most Grey Cup appearances (26).

Who won the Grey Cup in 1979?

The Edmonton Eskimos
The 67th Grey Cup was played on November 25, 1979 before 65,113 fans at Olympic Stadium in Montreal. The Edmonton Eskimos defeated the Montreal Alouettes 17–9.

When did Edmonton Elks win a Grey Cup?

The Elks were founded in 1949 as the Edmonton Eskimos and have won the Grey Cup championship fourteen times (including a three-peat between 1954 and 1956 and an unmatched five consecutive wins between 1978 and 1982), most recently in 2015.

Who won the 1977 Grey Cup?

Montreal Alouettes
The 65th Grey Cup, also known as The Ice Bowl, was played on November 27, 1977, at Montreal’s Olympic Stadium. The hometown Montreal Alouettes defeated the Edmonton Eskimos by a score of 41–6.

Who won the 1980 GREY Cup?

Edmonton Eskimos
Grey Cup Winners

2019 Winnipeg Blue Bombers (11) Hamilton Tiger-Cats
1982 Edmonton Eskimos (9) Toronto Argonauts
1981 Edmonton Eskimos (8) Ottawa Rough Riders
1980 Edmonton Eskimos (7) Hamilton Tiger-Cats
1979 Edmonton Eskimos (6) Montreal Alouettes

How many GREY cups have the Edmonton Elks won?

The Edmonton Elks are the most successful franchise of the Canadian Football League modern era. Founded in 1949, the team, known for their Green and Gold colours, are 14-time Grey Cup champions, including the historic five-in-a-row from 1978 to 1982.

Who won the 1980 Grey Cup?

Who won the 100th Grey Cup?

Toronto Argonauts100th Grey Cup / Champion

Who won the Grey Cup in 1981?

Grey Cup playoffs The Edmonton Eskimos are the 1981 Grey Cup champions, defeating the Ottawa Rough Riders, 26–23, at Montreal’s Olympic Stadium. Edmonton won their fourth-straight championship on a last second Dave Cutler field-goal.

Who won the 1990 Grey Cup?

Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Grey Cup Winners

2019 Winnipeg Blue Bombers (11) 33 – 12
1990 Winnipeg Blue Bombers (10) 50 – 11
1989 Saskatchewan Roughriders (2) 43 – 40
1988 Winnipeg Blue Bombers (9) 22 – 21
1987 Edmonton Eskimos (10) 38 – 36

Who won Grey Cup in 1988?

the Winnipeg Blue Bombers
The 76th Grey Cup was the 1988 Canadian Football League championship game that was played at Lansdowne Park in Ottawa, between the BC Lions and the Winnipeg Blue Bombers. The Blue Bombers defeated the favoured Lions 22–21.

Who won the 1997 Grey Cup?

The 85th Grey Cup (Canadian Football League championship) was held in 1997 in Edmonton before 60,431 fans. The heavily favoured Toronto Argonauts won the game over the Saskatchewan Roughriders with a score of 47–23.

What is the history of the Grey Cup in Canada?

Grey donated the trophy to the Canadian Rugby Union in 1909 to recognize the top amateur rugby football team in Canada. First awarded in 1909, there have since been 100 Grey Cup championship games, although there was no Grey Cup game from 1916 to 1919. Numbers in brackets indicate the total number of Grey Cup team wins.

Who has won the Grey Cup twice in the same year?

As a member of the Winnipeg Blue Bombers, Andrew Harris is the only player to win both the Grey Cup’s Most Valuable Canadian and Most Valuable Player the same year, which he did in 2019.

When did eded Edmonton last win the Grey Cup?

Edmonton’s championship run came to an end in 1983 when they lost in the West Semi-Final game; the Argonauts defeated the BC Lions to win the championship that year, ending the team’s 31-year Grey Cup title drought.

What happened in the 1981 Grey Cup?

The 1981 Grey Cup was expected to be yet another easy win for Edmonton, who posted a 14–1–1 record during the season and were considered overwhelming favourites against the 5–11 Ottawa Rough Riders. The first half did not go as Edmonton hoped, though, as Ottawa emerged with a 20–1 lead.